The Hudson River

http://www.hudsonrivervalley.com

Today, I have a weakness, a pounding need to be closer to the Hudson River. I live in a brownstone, which is three blocks from this majestic river, and from my desk, I can see a sliver of her, even through Manhattan’s early morning fog.  Her rambling mysteries and histories have a way of making me feel secure.

I didn’t always have this fondness for her; I used to take her for granted when I first started working in NYC, as a real estate broker.  It was a book, actually, a historical novel that fostered a desire to know more about the tidal estuary that’s so close to my home. One rainy morning in 2010, Edward Rutherford’s, New York, inspired me to travel north, from Grand Central Terminal on Metro-North’s Hudson Railroad Line.  Initially, I’d hoped to experience all three-hundred miles of her, but I only made it seventy-four miles to Poughkeepsie, which turned out to be just fine.  Because, during that ninety-minute train ride, I was mesmerized by cliffs, and the widening of the river’s strong, steady current; I could imagine the Algonquin tribesmen paddling canoes, just as I had read about in Rutherford’s book, and the 1600’s voyage of Dutch Sea Commander Henry Hudson.  It was magical, to me, and somehow, I felt like I was part of it, from a distance, looking out from a smeared train window, during a storm.

I finally understood why Washington Irving, Herman Melville, Edgar Allan Poe, and Edith Wharton were compelled to write in this Great Hudson Valley.  It’s a treasure, and one I appreciate even more today, from a window-view on the top floor of a brownstone, I call my home.

In addition to literary-types, there are few old-time, pioneers-of-commerce, who’ve felt a kinship with this bounty of water, too.  People like you and me, who will never know the experience of owning a vast, summer retreat, now can take a short train ride to visit:

Kykuit (The Rockefeller Estate)

Sunnyside (Washington Irving’s Home)

Montgomery Place

The Vanderbilt Mansion

And for those who can afford such a luxury, Prudential Douglas Elliman, just a few days ago, introduced me to a Yohannanian inspired home, called Greystone Court, located at 170 Shonnard Terrace, in Yonkers* (Westchester County), available for $4,950,000. Click on the photo to watch the 2.05 minute video. Oh, it’s a gem!

Be sure to click Yohannan to read Christopher Mason’s 2004 NYT Article about the history of Greystone Court.

*Yonkers was the first city to be incorporated in Westchester County in 1872.  For more information on this city, click HERE.

2 thoughts on “The Hudson River

Leave a Reply

